Farmleigh House & Estate
Farmleigh is an estate of 78 acres situated to the north-west of Dublin's Phoenix Park. It was purchased by the Office of Public Works on behalf of the Government in June 1999 and developed in order to provide accommodation for visiting dignitaries and guests of the nation, for high level Government meetings and for enjoyment by the public. Farmleigh remains a unique representation of its heyday, the Edwardian period, when wealthy industrialists had replaced landowners as the builders of large mansions in Ireland. Their tastes were eclectic, mising a variety of architectural styles and decors. Edward Cecil Guinness first Earl of Iveagh, the great-grandson of Arthur Guinness, built Farmleigh around a smaller Georgian house in the 1880's. Many of the artworks and furnishings he collected for Farmleigh remain in the house on loan from the Guinness family to the State. The Benjamin Iveagh collection of rare books, bindings and manuscripts is held in the Library. The extensive pleasure grounds are a wonderful collection of Victorian and Edwardian ornamental features with walled and sunken gardens, scenic lakeside walks and a range of plants that provide both visual and horticultural interest throughout the seasons. The Estate also boasts a working farm with a herd of Kerry Black cows. Farmleigh is managed by Facilities Management Services at the Office of Public Works. House Tours There are guided tours of the house every day. Tours run every hour from 10.15am to 4.15pm and last approximately 45mins. Each tour is strictly limited to twenty-five people and tickets are issued on a first-come-first-served basis. Entrance is free of charge. Please note that, because Farmleigh is a working Government building, the House may close at short notice. You can check Farmleigh.ie for updates or telephone +353 (1) 815 5914 for further information. Last tour of the House is at 16.